X

Giving Tuesday is November 27!

To celebrate 54 years of excellence at Canterbury, will you help us reach our goal of getting 54 donors in 24 hours?
#GivingTuesday #CanterburyGives
GIVE NOW
Community

Test Prep Programs

Canterbury School is dedicated to academic excellence within a caring and supportive community emphasizing character, leadership and service. We are happy to offer Intensive Test Prep programs!

Canterbury Test Prep programs are open to all students in the community.
Jim Giesen is a Canterbury Mathematics Department faculty member and a professionally trained Test Prep tutor and teacher educator who served as Director of Education for a private tutoring company in St. Petersburg. He has extensive experience in the field of test preparation and has been helping prepare students for standardized tests since 2006.

ACT Test Prep with Jim Giesen

Prepare for the September 8 ACT 
Dates:  Sat. Aug. 18, Wed. Aug. 22, Sat. Aug. 25, Wed. Aug. 29, Wed. Sept. 5
Times:  Wednesday classes are 4-8 pm, Saturday classes are 8-12 pm
Course Tuition: $900; Current Canterbury Students: $650

Prepare for the February 9 ACT 
Dates:  Wed. Jan. 23, Sat. Jan. 26, Wed. Jan 30, Sat. Feb 2, We. Feb. 6
Times:  Wednesday classes are 4-8 pm, Saturday classes are 8-12 pm
Course Tuition: $900; Current Canterbury Students: $650


The goal of test prep is to gain an in-depth understanding of the ACT format, as well as gain confidence in test-taking strategies by practicing various test questions with guided instruction.

Students should plan to bring their own book:
  • Required text: 

    The Official ACT Prep Guide, 2018
    ISBN-13: 978-1119386896 
    ISBN-10: 1119386896

Classes 1, 2, 4 and 5 will be instructional and Class 4 will provide students with a sample test which they will self-score and receive instructor feedback. In the course, students can expect:
  • Lessons to gain an in-depth understanding of all ACT question types.
  • Gain confidence by practicing test question types with guided instruction
  • Practice test midway through class- receive personal feedback and fine-tune and focus study
  • Intensive study in the weeks leading up to the test - be ready on testing day!

SAT Test Prep with Jim Giesen

Prepare for the October 6 SAT and/or 
the October 17 PSAT!
Dates: Sat. Sept. 15, Sat. Sept. 22, Wed. Sept. 26, Sat. Sept. 29, Wed. Oct. 3   
Time:  Wednesday classes are 4-8 pm, Saturday classes are 8 am-12 pm
Course Tuition: $900; Current Canterbury Students: $650

Prepare for the March 9  SAT 
Dates: Mon. Feb. 25, Wed. Feb 27, Sat. Mar 2, Mon. Mar 4, Wed. Mar 6
Time:  Monday and Wednesday classes are 4-8 pm, Saturday classes are 8 am-12 pm
Course Tuition: $900; Current Canterbury Students: $650


This 20-hour course, led by test prep professional and Canterbury faculty member Jim Giesen, will give students valuable strategies and a comprehensive understanding of the test, in order to optimize results.
  • Lessons to gain an in-depth understanding of all SAT question types.
  • Gain confidence by practicing test question types with guided instruction
  • Practice test midway through class- receive personal feedback to fine-tune and focus study
  • Intensive study in the weeks leading up to the test - be ready for the testing day!

Required Text: Official SAT Study Guide (2018 Edition)
ISBN-13: 978-1457309281 ISBN-10: 1457309289

Refund Policy

Courses are non-refundable within 30 days of the course start date. Pro-rated tuition is not available. 

We reserve the right to modify, change or cancel programs.

Canterbury School reserves the right to use any photos taken during our programs for advertising and/or institutional purposes.